Christmas 2026 Kennel & Cattery Availability in Melbourne (Updated Weekly)
Last updated: 24 Oct 2026 · 15 providers tracked · next check due 31 Oct 2026
Christmas and New Year is the hardest time of year to find a kennel or cattery in Melbourne. This page tracks what each provider publicly says about Christmas 2026: whether they are booked out, their peak dates, minimum stays, deposits and published daily rates.
Every fact links to its source and shows the date we checked it. Where a provider does not publish something, we say "not published" — we never guess.
At a glance (25 Oct 2026)
- 2 report fully booked
- 2 partly booked
- 1 limited availability
- 10 don't publish status
- Animal Aid Boarding Kennels & Cattery (Coldstream): Fully booked Dog kennels fully booked for Christmas and New Year ('We do not have any availability during this time'). Limited cattery spaces still advertised. source for Animal Aid Boarding Kennels & Cattery Christmas status (opens in a new tab), checked 24 Oct 2026
- Cottage Kennels and Cattery (Plenty): Partly booked Booked out for some dates/rooms: The Main shared 24 Dec–5 Jan; The Main single 24 Dec–9 Jan and 15–18 Jan; The Pavilion shared 24 Dec–6 Jan; The Pavilion single 24 Dec–11 Jan; all cat accommodation 23 Dec–5 Jan (2027 dates in January). source for Cottage Kennels and Cattery Christmas status (opens in a new tab), checked 24 Oct 2026
- Hallam Park Pet Resort (Hallam): Partly booked Kennel fully booked for MEDIUM–LARGE dogs 24 Dec to 3 Jan; waiting list via phone/email. Status for small-dog cottages and cats not stated. source for Hallam Park Pet Resort Christmas status (opens in a new tab), checked 24 Oct 2026
- Kepala Pet Resort (Diggers Rest): Fully booked Fully booked: 'all accommodation is now fully booked for the Christmas/New Years holiday 2026 period'. source for Kepala Pet Resort Christmas status (opens in a new tab), checked 24 Oct 2026
- Tullamarine Cat Boarding (Tullamarine): Limited availability 'We have limited availability for Xmas 2026 & January 2027' — call or email to check. source for Tullamarine Cat Boarding Christmas status (opens in a new tab), checked 24 Oct 2026
Christmas 2026 rules by provider
Sorted by status, then name; use the column buttons to re-sort. On phones each provider shows as a card; on mid-size screens scroll the table sideways. "Daily rate" is the lowest published non-peak rate (or the holiday rate where that is all that is published) — Christmas surcharges and minimum stays are listed separately.
| Provider | Area | Christmas 2026 status | Peak dates | Minimum stay | Deposit | Daily rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Animal Aid Boarding Kennels & Cattery Kennel & Cattery | Coldstream Eastern Melbourne & Yarra Valley | Fully booked Dog kennels fully booked for Christmas and New Year ('We do not have any availability during this time'). Limited cattery spaces still advertised. source for Animal Aid Boarding Kennels & Cattery Christmas status (opens in a new tab), checked 24 Oct 2026 | Not published | Not published checked 24 Oct 2026 | Not published checked 24 Oct 2026 | Dog $42 Cat $23.50 source for Animal Aid Boarding Kennels & Cattery rate (opens in a new tab), checked 23 Oct 2026 |
| Kepala Pet Resort Kennel & Cattery | Diggers Rest North-West Melbourne | Fully booked Fully booked: 'all accommodation is now fully booked for the Christmas/New Years holiday 2026 period'. source for Kepala Pet Resort Christmas status (opens in a new tab), checked 24 Oct 2026 | Not published | Not published checked 24 Oct 2026 | Non-refundable $100 deposit for all Christmas and Easter bookings. Stays over 28 days need a 50% deposit on arrival. source for Kepala Pet Resort deposit (opens in a new tab), checked 24 Oct 2026 | Dog $64 Cat $39 source for Kepala Pet Resort rate (opens in a new tab), checked 23 Oct 2026 |
| Cottage Kennels and Cattery Kennel & Cattery | Plenty Northern Melbourne | Partly booked Booked out for some dates/rooms: The Main shared 24 Dec–5 Jan; The Main single 24 Dec–9 Jan and 15–18 Jan; The Pavilion shared 24 Dec–6 Jan; The Pavilion single 24 Dec–11 Jan; all cat accommodation 23 Dec–5 Jan (2027 dates in January). source for Cottage Kennels and Cattery Christmas status (opens in a new tab), checked 24 Oct 2026 | Victorian public school holidays | Christmas/New Year: 14 days. 2–15 January: 7 days. Easter: 7 days. Other school holidays: 5 days. source for Cottage Kennels and Cattery minimum stay (opens in a new tab), checked 24 Oct 2026 | $100 per pet for peak reservations; 50% for The Deck. Refundable up to 28 days before start, excluding Christmas and New Year. source for Cottage Kennels and Cattery deposit (opens in a new tab), checked 24 Oct 2026 | Dog $59 Cat $46 source for Cottage Kennels and Cattery rate (opens in a new tab), checked 23 Oct 2026 |
| Hallam Park Pet Resort Kennel & Cattery | Hallam South-East Melbourne | Partly booked Kennel fully booked for MEDIUM–LARGE dogs 24 Dec to 3 Jan; waiting list via phone/email. Status for small-dog cottages and cats not stated. source for Hallam Park Pet Resort Christmas status (opens in a new tab), checked 24 Oct 2026 | 18 Dec 2026 – 27 Jan 2027 | Minimum ten-day charge for the Christmas period. source for Hallam Park Pet Resort minimum stay (opens in a new tab), checked 24 Oct 2026 | Non-refundable 50% deposit for Easter and Christmas periods. source for Hallam Park Pet Resort deposit (opens in a new tab), checked 24 Oct 2026 | Dog $50 Cat $35 source for Hallam Park Pet Resort rate (opens in a new tab), checked 23 Oct 2026 |
| Tullamarine Cat Boarding Cattery | Tullamarine North-West Melbourne | Limited availability 'We have limited availability for Xmas 2026 & January 2027' — call or email to check. source for Tullamarine Cat Boarding Christmas status (opens in a new tab), checked 24 Oct 2026 | Not published | Not published checked 24 Oct 2026 | Not published checked 24 Oct 2026 | Not published |
| All 4 Paws and Claws Resort Kennel & Cattery | Dixons Creek Eastern Melbourne & Yarra Valley | Not published No availability status published; site urges booking and paying the deposit early. source for All 4 Paws and Claws Resort Christmas status (opens in a new tab), checked 24 Oct 2026 | 20 Dec – 20 Jan | 14-day minimum at the standard rate from 20 Dec to 20 Jan inclusive (shorter stays pay the higher rate). source for All 4 Paws and Claws Resort minimum stay (opens in a new tab), checked 24 Oct 2026 | Christmas: $100 non-refundable, non-transferable deposit per dog booking and $50 per cat booking; no room is held without it. In all peak periods, more than 14 days' written notice loses the deposit only; under 14 days' notice (or a no-show) is charged the full booking. source for All 4 Paws and Claws Resort deposit (opens in a new tab), checked 24 Oct 2026 | Dog $40 Cat $32.50 source for All 4 Paws and Claws Resort rate (opens in a new tab), checked 23 Oct 2026 |
| Dogs Country Club & Kennel Resort Kennel | Baxter Mornington Peninsula & Frankston | Not published No availability status published. source for Dogs Country Club & Kennel Resort Christmas status (opens in a new tab), checked 24 Oct 2026 | Not published | Christmas/New Year: 10-day minimum charge. Easter: 7 days. Other school/public holiday peaks: no minimum. source for Dogs Country Club & Kennel Resort minimum stay (opens in a new tab), checked 24 Oct 2026 | Peak: $200 per guest (Premium Suite), $400 per guest (Luxury Suite). Christmas/New Year Premium deposits non-refundable after 30 September. source for Dogs Country Club & Kennel Resort deposit (opens in a new tab), checked 24 Oct 2026 | Not published |
| Donvale Cattery Cattery | Donvale Eastern Melbourne & Yarra Valley | Not published No availability status published. source for Donvale Cattery Christmas status (opens in a new tab), checked 24 Oct 2026 | 18 Dec – 30 Jan (surcharge period) | 7 days over December/January; 2 days the rest of the year. source for Donvale Cattery minimum stay (opens in a new tab), checked 24 Oct 2026 | Not published checked 24 Oct 2026 | Cat $31 source for Donvale Cattery rate (opens in a new tab), checked 23 Oct 2026 |
| Hanrob Pet Hotels Melbourne Airport Kennel & Cattery | Tullamarine North-West Melbourne | Not published No availability status published; quotes via reservations 1300 426 762. source for Hanrob Pet Hotels Melbourne Airport Christmas status (opens in a new tab), checked 24 Oct 2026 | Not published | Hanrob terms: peak periods may include minimum stays, higher deposits, earlier payment deadlines and different cancellation terms, communicated at booking. Lengths not published. source for Hanrob Pet Hotels Melbourne Airport minimum stay (opens in a new tab), checked 24 Oct 2026 | A deposit may be required, and full payment may be required before check-in; peak deposits may be higher (communicated at booking). Amounts not published. Cutting a stay short after the free cancellation deadline is charged in full. source for Hanrob Pet Hotels Melbourne Airport deposit (opens in a new tab), checked 24 Oct 2026 | Dog from $53 Cat from $26 source for Hanrob Pet Hotels Melbourne Airport rate (opens in a new tab), checked 23 Oct 2026 |
| Kip Bayside Kennel | Moorabbin Bayside & Kingston | Not published No availability status published. source for Kip Bayside Christmas status (opens in a new tab), checked 24 Oct 2026 | Not published | Kip terms: peak minimum stays may apply, communicated at booking. source for Kip Bayside minimum stay (opens in a new tab), checked 24 Oct 2026 | A deposit may be required; peak deposits may be higher. source for Kip Bayside deposit (opens in a new tab), checked 24 Oct 2026 | Dog from $67 source for Kip Bayside rate (opens in a new tab), checked 23 Oct 2026 |
| Kip Melbourne South East Kennel & Cattery | Dandenong South South-East Melbourne | Not published No availability status published. source for Kip Melbourne South East Christmas status (opens in a new tab), checked 24 Oct 2026 | Not published | Kip terms: peak periods may include minimum stays, higher deposits, earlier payment deadlines and different cancellation terms, communicated at booking. source for Kip Melbourne South East minimum stay (opens in a new tab), checked 24 Oct 2026 | A deposit may be required; peak deposits may be higher (communicated at booking). source for Kip Melbourne South East deposit (opens in a new tab), checked 24 Oct 2026 | Dog from $51 Cat from $40 source for Kip Melbourne South East rate (opens in a new tab), checked 23 Oct 2026 |
| Kooronya Boarding Kennel and Cattery Kennel & Cattery | Moorooduc Mornington Peninsula & Frankston | Not published No availability status published. source for Kooronya Boarding Kennel and Cattery Christmas status (opens in a new tab), checked 24 Oct 2026 | School holidays (exact dates not published) | Minimum stays apply in school holidays; phone for details. source for Kooronya Boarding Kennel and Cattery minimum stay (opens in a new tab), checked 24 Oct 2026 | Deposit required in school holiday periods; non-refundable on cancellation. source for Kooronya Boarding Kennel and Cattery deposit (opens in a new tab), checked 24 Oct 2026 | Dog $56 Cat $30 source for Kooronya Boarding Kennel and Cattery rate (opens in a new tab), checked 23 Oct 2026 |
| Pet Resorts Australia – Port Melbourne Kennel & Cattery | Port Melbourne Inner Melbourne | Not published No availability status published. source for Pet Resorts Australia – Port Melbourne Christmas status (opens in a new tab), checked 24 Oct 2026 | One month across Christmas/New Year (exact dates not published) | Minimum seven-day charge across the Christmas and New Year period; four days at Easter. source for Pet Resorts Australia – Port Melbourne minimum stay (opens in a new tab), checked 24 Oct 2026 | 25% non-refundable booking confirmation fee on all bookings, paid when you book. More than 30 days' notice: fee kept as a credit for 12 months. 30 days or less before a Christmas stay: the whole fee is forfeited. source for Pet Resorts Australia – Port Melbourne deposit (opens in a new tab), checked 24 Oct 2026 | Dog from $49.50 Cat from $28 source for Pet Resorts Australia – Port Melbourne rate (opens in a new tab), checked 23 Oct 2026 |
| Sophisticat Resort Cattery | Moorabbin Bayside & Kingston | Not published No availability status published. source for Sophisticat Resort Christmas status (opens in a new tab), checked 24 Oct 2026 | 18 Dec – 8 Jan | Christmas: 10 nights. Easter: 5 nights. None at other times. source for Sophisticat Resort minimum stay (opens in a new tab), checked 24 Oct 2026 | 50% of the booking (capped at $650). Christmas bookings cancelled before 1 November: deposit refunded less a $150 fee (or kept as a credit for 6 months). Cancelled after 1 November: deposit forfeited. source for Sophisticat Resort deposit (opens in a new tab), checked 24 Oct 2026 | Cat $52 source for Sophisticat Resort rate (opens in a new tab), checked 23 Oct 2026 |
| Sparrows In The Tree Top Kennel & Cattery | Yarrambat Northern Melbourne | Not published No availability status published. source for Sparrows In The Tree Top Christmas status (opens in a new tab), checked 24 Oct 2026 | 19 Dec – 1 Feb | Christmas & New Year (19 Dec – 1 Feb): 14 nights if the booking includes any date 25 Dec – 4 Jan; otherwise 7 nights. source for Sparrows In The Tree Top minimum stay (opens in a new tab), checked 24 Oct 2026 | $200 deposit/booking fee for Christmas; bookings cancelled on or after 1 December incur the full booking fee. source for Sparrows In The Tree Top deposit (opens in a new tab), checked 24 Oct 2026 | Dog $40 Cat $30 source for Sparrows In The Tree Top rate (opens in a new tab), checked 23 Oct 2026 |
What the Christmas rules mean for your budget
Minimum stays turn a short trip into a longer bill. For example, at Hallam Park's published peak rate of $55/day for a standard kennel, the 10-day Christmas minimum charge works out to at least $550 per dog (source (opens in a new tab), checked 23 Oct 2026). At Cottage Kennels, 14 days of shared accommodation at $59/day is $826 per dog (rate (opens in a new tab), minimum (opens in a new tab)). Both are our arithmetic from published figures; your quote may differ.
See the full dog boarding price comparison and cat boarding prices for Melbourne, or read the Christmas boarding checklist.
Comparing deposits and cancellation deadlines? See Christmas minimum stays, deposits & cancellation rules compared across Melbourne, Sydney and Brisbane, with the dates deposits stop being refundable.
Dropping off on Christmas Eve or collecting on Boxing Day? See which kennels are open for check-in over Christmas and New Year, including the extra public holiday on Monday 28 December.
Free price alerts & Christmas availability
One email a month with price changes and newly listed providers in Melbourne, plus short alerts when kennels publish Christmas or holiday availability. Free. Unsubscribe any time. What you'll get
Christmas boarding FAQ
Are Melbourne kennels booked out for Christmas 2026?
Some are. As of 25 Oct 2026, 5 of the 15 providers we track publish a Christmas status: Animal Aid Boarding Kennels & Cattery — fully booked; Cottage Kennels and Cattery — partly booked; Hallam Park Pet Resort — partly booked; Kepala Pet Resort — fully booked; Tullamarine Cat Boarding — limited availability. The other 10 do not publish availability, so call them directly.
How long is the minimum stay at Melbourne kennels over Christmas?
Published Christmas minimums among the providers we track range from 7 days (e.g. Pet Resorts Australia Port Melbourne, Donvale Cattery for Dec/Jan) to 10 days (Hallam Park, Dogs Country Club, Sophisticat) and 14 days (Cottage Kennels, Sparrows In The Tree Top for stays touching 25 Dec–4 Jan, All 4 Paws and Claws for the standard rate). Check each provider page for the source.
How much deposit do kennels want for Christmas bookings?
Published Christmas deposits include $100 (Kepala; Cottage Kennels per pet; All 4 Paws and Claws per dog, $50 per cat), $200 (Sparrows; Dogs Country Club Premium Suite), $400 (Dogs Country Club Luxury), 25% (Pet Resorts Australia) and 50% (Hallam Park; Sophisticat, capped at $650). Most are non-refundable.
What vaccinations does my pet need to board?
Almost all Melbourne kennels require a current C5 vaccination for dogs and F3 for cats. Several want it given at least 10–14 days before arrival, and Hanrob also requires an annual canine cough vaccination.
What if every kennel near me is full?
Join waiting lists (Hallam Park runs one), widen your search to other regions, or consider a pet sitter. Cancellations do happen, especially after deposit deadlines.
Browse Melbourne by region
- Northern MelbourneKennels in Northern MelbourneCatteries in Northern Melbourne
- North-West MelbourneKennels in North-West MelbourneCatteries in North-West Melbourne
- Eastern Melbourne & Yarra ValleyKennels in Eastern Melbourne & Yarra ValleyCatteries in Eastern Melbourne & Yarra Valley
- South-East MelbourneKennels in South-East MelbourneCatteries in South-East Melbourne
- Bayside & KingstonKennels in Bayside & KingstonCatteries in Bayside & Kingston
- Inner MelbourneKennels in Inner MelbourneCatteries in Inner Melbourne
- Mornington Peninsula & FrankstonKennels in Mornington Peninsula & FrankstonCatteries in Mornington Peninsula & Frankston
Other cities: Sydney Christmas 2026 tracker · Brisbane Christmas 2026 tracker
Method
We read each provider's own website on the date shown and record only what they publish. We re-check this page weekly until mid-January 2027. Grand Haven Pet Resort was excluded after checking: it is in Queensland, not Melbourne. Providers can send us an update.
Run a kennel, cattery or sitting service?
Basic listings are free. Send us your published prices, peak rules and Christmas availability and we'll add or correct your details. Want to stand out over Christmas? See featured listings.
List or update your business See plans